Our History

Presbyterians have worshipped together in Waringstown since 1846.  Our current church building was built and opened in 1853.  The distinctive building, with its two ornate towers, was designed by the famous architect Charles Lanyon, who designed some of Ulster’s most iconic buildings, including the main building of Queen’s University Belfast.

We are preparing to embark upon a major building project, which will give us greater capacity at Sunday worship, improved facilities to reach out to the surrounding community, and enable us to be a relevant, vibrant worshipping community for the 21st century.

Our church family has trebled in size over the past fifty years and we currently have over 300 families connected with our congregation.

Find out more about the history of the Presbyterian Church in Ireland here.